Winter

Winter Competitionsm_CH_Logo 2017 Coburg Harriers

 Ballarat_15k_Start

Welcome to the 2017 Winter Cross-Country Running Season

  • Coburg Harriers Athletic Club participates in the Athletics Victoria XC Season (events below in Blue are AV Events), we usually field 2-3 Men’s Teams and 1-2 Women’s Teams, an over 50s Team and possibly a Junior Team.
  • We also offer Club Events for members (Events below in RED are Club Events).
  • Events in Yellow are (non-Dr Marshall Shield) points events.

Dr Marshall Shield (Winter)

The Dr Marshall Shield is awarded to the Club Member who:

1. Participates in the most events (out of a possible 20 AV & Club) for the Winter Season.
2. Finishes in the highest placings in the Club and AV Events.
3. Volunteering for Events and/or assisting also goes towards Dr M Points.

FAQs Membership & Winter Athletics Victoria

  • Q1. I only want to run club events.  If you would like to run in ‘Club Events’ Only during Winter then you are only required to be a Club Member i.e.  (run club events, use facilities, training group & assist occasionally at events such as fun runs etc).
  • Q2. I want to run club & AV events. If you would like to run in Athletics Victoria Events as well as Club Events then you are required to be an Athletics Victoria Member & Club Member.
  • Q3. I’m not a serious runner is AV an elite competition?  Yes AV has an elite level of runners however most runs are made up of people like us, we run to be fit and healthy to be challenged and to enjoy the social aspects of running.  AV Competition is fantastic value – events work out to be around $20.00 each you have a variety of event distances and locations that are well organised with a friendly atmosphere.  Your membership also entitles you to run in the Summer AV Season Track.
  • Q4. More Information? See the XC AV Winter Page or talk to Coach Brian.

Costs & Membership

To participate in Winter Club runs only become a Coburg Harriers Member you can register online or pay the Treasurer Directly

  • To be an Athletics Victoria (AV) team participant, you pay both Club and AV membership here
  • Club membership – $ 55
  • AV Membership (Open $100, Junior $80) then,
  • Select additional package – XCR ($125 / $100) or Summer ($125 / $100) or Both (Max Package $200 / $175)
  • Any queries or difficulties please contact runcoachbjd@tpg.com.au or 0409 313930

                         2017 XCR Calendar & Coburg Harriers Winter Events
Round Date Venue Event Distance Time
Fun 1 Sunday 15 January Harold Stevens Athletic Track New Year’s Resolution Fun Run 12, 6, 3K 9:00 AM
Fun 2 Sunday 26 February Coburg Lake Active Morland 10, 5k 9:00 AM
Fun 3 Sunday 5 March Harold Stevens Athletic Track Coburg 6 Hour 6 Hours Run 6am
Club 1 Saturday 1 April Coburg Lake Playground Picnic Area 4K Club Loop of Lake 4K 2:00 PM
Brian & Co. Saturday 8 April Oxfam Weekend

 100K Donate to Team Delaney, Cogan & Steel

https://trailwalker.oxfam.org.au/my/team/26123

Team Canal/s

https://trailwalker.oxfam.org.au/my/team/26946

2:00 PM
Fun 4 Saturday & Sunday 22/23 April Harold Stevens Athletic Track 24 Hour – Victorian Track Championships 24 Hours 10.00 am
AV 1 Saturday 22 April Jells Park

XC Relays

 

6K 12:00 PM
Club 2 Saturday 29 April Harold Stevens Athletic Track

Coburg XC Club Handicap

https://www.strava.com/routes/8435821

6K 2:00 PM
Club 3 Saturday 06 May Fairfield Boathouse Fairfield Boathouse XC Handicap 8K/4K Junior 2:00 PM
AV 2 Saturday 13 May Wandin Park XC 6/8K 9:00 AM
Fun 5 Sunday 21 May Harold Stevens Athletic Track King & Queen of the North 12, 6, 3k 9:00 AM
AV 3 Saturday 27 May Cruden Farm XC 8km & 16km Heritage Round 8K & 16K 2:00 PM
Club 4 Saturday 10 June Warringal Park Heidelberg Warringal Park Panter Club XC Timed Run 40min (H/Cap)/Jnr 20min 2:00 PM
AV 4 Saturday 17 June Bundoora Cross Country Parklands XC 10K 2:00 PM
Club 5 Saturday 24 June Harold Stevens Athletic Track (Bluestone Weekend ) Club C/ship series, Race 1 of 2 – Xcountry, Incorporates a sealed h/cap race 8k 2:00 pm
Fun 6 Sunday 25 June Harold Stevens Athletic Track (Bluestone Weekend) Bluestone Classic  Track 3k, Road 4k Xcountry 8k 15, 7k 9:00 am
Saturday 1st Sunday 2nd July Goald Coast Marathon Weekend 2:00 PM
AV 5 Saturday 8 July Sandown Relays Relays 2×3.2k 6.4k 2:00 PM
AV 6 Sunday 16 July Albert Park Road Race (TBC) Road Race 10K 2:00 PM
Club 6 Saturday 22 July Humevale Run Humevale 8K 2:00 pm
Fun 7 Sunday 23 July Harold Stevens Athletic Track Coburg July Fun Run 12, 6, 3K 12:00 PM
AV 7 Saturday 29 July Ballarat – Lake Wendouree Road Race 15K
Club 7 Saturday 5 August Eric’s Epic Run – run is hosting by Eric’s Family and Co, a secret training location on farm land with rolling grass paddocks and crocodile filled dams. Launching Place 10K/4K Junior, plus little kids farm run. 2:00 PM
AV 8 Saturday 12 August Anglesea Surf Coast Ekiden Relay Various up to 9K 12:00 PM
Club 8 Saturday 19 August Princes Park Club C/Ship Series, Race 2 of 2, Road, Incorporating a sealed H/Cap 10K/5K Junior 2:00 pm
Fun 8 Sunday 20 August Harold Stevens Athletic Track Coburg Half Marathon 21.1 & 10.5 2:00 PM
Club 9 Saturday 26 August Westerfolds Park, Templestowe Westerfolds Bernie Goggin 10K Handicap 10K/5K Junior 2.00 pm
AV 9 Sunday 3 September Burnley Kevin Bartlett Reserve Half Marathon Road 21.1K 2:00 PM
Club 10 Saturday 9 September Norris Bank Park, Bundoora Each 3, 2, 1K run is based on a handicap time.  Each place getter for the 3, 2, 1K run receives points, the most overall points accumulated is the winner 1, 2, 3K 2.00 pm
AV 10 Saturday 16 September AV Princes Park Relay Relay 3.2K 9:00 AM
Fun 9 Sunday 8 October Harold Stevens Athletic Track Coburg Lake Classic Fun Run 10 & 5K 9:00 AM
Fun 10 Sunday 5 November Harold Stevens Athletic Track Coburg fun Run 12, 6, 3K